De meningen ge-uit door medewerkers en studenten van de TU Delft en de commentaren die zijn gegeven reflecteren niet perse de mening(en) van de TU Delft. De TU Delft is dan ook niet verantwoordelijk voor de inhoud van hetgeen op de TU Delft weblogs zichtbaar is. Wel vindt de TU Delft het belangrijk - en ook waarde toevoegend - dat medewerkers en studenten op deze, door de TU Delft gefaciliteerde, omgeving hun mening kunnen geven.


Instructors: Check your course(s) for 2015-2016

We have created your new course(s) for the Academic Year 2015-2016 in Blackboard. Before the new study year starts, we advise you to check your course(s) in Blackboard to make sure everything is good to go for the new year.

In previous years the course copy’s were automatically made available for students, so they could self-enroll already in the courses. Last year several Course Managers and Instructors experienced issues with their course content becoming automatically available, and due to this we have chosen to change this setting.  Per this year, courses that are copied form the previous year have been set to unavailable. This means that students cannot find a course, or enroll in it, unless the instructor has made the course available in Blackboard.

Please check if the following settings of your new course are correct:

  • Course availability (Course Management – Control Panel > Customization > Properties > 3. Set availability)
    • Available: Blackboard users can see the course and enroll in the course when it is set to “self-enrollment”.
    • Unavailable: Blackboard users cannot see the course, even if they are enrolled (except course managers and instructors). Use this option if you don’t want students to find and access the course will you are working on it. Don’t forget to make it available again. As a reminder: In your course overview list you will see (unavailable) behind the course-name.
  • Enrollment Settings (Course Management – Control Panel > Customization > Enrollment options)
    • Enroll by instructor (with or without e-mail instructor option)
    • Self-enrollment (with or without start and/or end date)
  • Set Un-enroll options.
    Make the tool available via : Course Management – Control Panel > Customization > Tool availability. Once the tool is available, you can change the settings via: Course Management – Control Panel > Course Tools > Un-enroll tool.

    • Disable un-enroll – if you don’t want students to be able to un-enroll
    • Deactivate when un-enroll – standard setting. Student data will be preserved / saved.
    • Delete when un-enroll – We advise to use “deactivate”, with this setting all user data belonging to the course will be lost.You can find more information on setting up your course in the attached documents.

If your course has not become available in Blackboard, there are two options:

  • Please visit and look up who is listed as the Course Coordinator. If you are not listed, please contact your CourseBase coordinator or ask the listed course coordinator to add you as a course manager or instructor in Blackboard.
  • Please take a look at the course in CourseBase to see if the course is published. A course needs to be published in Coursebase to become available in Blackboard. Any changes in CourseBase will be effectuated in Blackboard the next day.

If you teach the same course multiple times a year it is possible to prepare one Blackboard course and copy it to the other quarters. While copying a course it will be placed in a queue, it can take some time (up to 24 hours if the system is busy) before a copy has been executed. If you do not receive a confirmation e-mail, or if you need any assistance, please contact E-Learning Support (ELS) at Please, do not re-submit the course copy.

The following two manuals might also be of use when setting up your course:

If you have any further questions or need any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact E-Learning Support (ELS) via or 015-2789194.


Comments are closed.

© 2011 TU Delft